a panoramic view of our plant facilities displaying aeration basins
Decorative wave divider

Metro Water Recovery Board of Directors elects new officers

New Board Officers 1024x576

The Metro Wastewater Reclamation District Board of Directors elected new officers to one-year terms at its regular meeting on July 21, 2020.

Scott Twombly has been re-elected as chairman.  He represents the City of Thornton and served on the board from 2005-2009 and has currently served since 2016.  Twombly is a real property manager for the City of Thornton. 

Andrew Johnston is the chairman pro tem and represents the City and County of Denver. He has served on the board since 2011.  Johnston works for Denver’s Department of Housing Stability as the catalytic projects lead. 

Sarah Niyork is the secretary and represents South Adams County Water and Sanitation District. She has served on the board since 2019. Niyork works for South Adams County Water and Sanitation District as an accountant. 

Jo Ann Giddings is the treasurer.  She represents the City of Aurora.  She has served on the board since 2019.  Giddings is the deputy director of Aurora Water Financial Services.

Photos of each officer are available upon request

About Metro Water Recovery

Metro was formed under Colorado law in 1961 and is the largest wastewater treatment facility in the Rocky Mountain West.  Metro works with 61 local governments, including cities, sanitation districts, and water and sanitation districts. They, in turn, provide retail wastewater service to about 2.2 million people in an 805 square-mile service area in metropolitan Denver.   

# # #

Decorative wave divider